Home > Festival

6th William Alwyn Festival 2016

The Festival runs on 5th October to 9th October 2016.

Tickets will be available from Monday August 1st through the following outlets:

Snape & Aldeburgh
Snape Maltings Box Office
Aldeburgh Music High Street
Box Office Tel: 01728 687110

E-mail: boxoffice@aldeburgh.co.uk  
Web: www.aldeburgh.co.uk

Blythburgh & Southwold
Southwold Library, North Green,
Southwold, IP18 6AT
Tel: 01502 722519 

Chapel Books (opposite P.O.)
Tel: 01728 648616 (12 - 5 daily) 


Woodbridge Violins, Market Hill
Tel: 01394 383150 

E-mail: info@woodbridgeviolins.com 

After five festivals we needed to find a venue that would enable us to include Alwyn’s major works including his symphonies and concertos. In the sixth and seventh festivals we are holding concerts at Snape Maltings using the BBC Concert Orchestra on the opening day and we continue the long association with Prometheus Orchestra when the 2016 closing concert will be in Orford. In 2017 there will be two major orchestral concerts at Snape, the first with the BBC Concert Orchestra and the final concert with Prometheus Orchestra. Blythburgh continues as the festival ‘base-camp’ and we look forward to many future chamber music concerts in ‘The Cathedral of the Marshes’.